Oscar Picks 2015

While I realize I haven’t updated this blog in quite a while, the 87th Annual Academy Awards are tonight and that seems a good time as any to get back into the habit.

While I did again see all the Best Picture nominees this year (please stop nominating so many!) this was another year of not suberb pictures. I’m not saying Birdman and Boyhood weren’t especially innovative or provocative or inviting, but, like last year, I doubt we’ll remember this past year as a great year in film.

In the end, the most interesting race this year, I believe, is the race for Best Director. Both Birdman and Boyhood were really superbly directed movies. Thus, I believe the academy will split that category with Best Pictures. Personally, I believe it’s Birdman for Best Picture (since the story was better) and Boyhood for Best Director since what Richard Linklater did really hadn’t been done before, but it could go the other way.

A special shout out to the whole internet for helping with basically all the “lesser” categories since I basically had no clue as to those.

Without further adieu, here are the picks:

Oscar 2015 Picks

Leave a Reply

