Oregon

ice cream
Salt and Straw Ice Cream

I have family and good friends who live in Portland, Ore. I was going out there about once a year for the past few years and it generally worked out that I would be there in early December. Weather is a big deal in the Pacific Northwest. They get a lot of rain, and it rains a lot outside of the summer. Thus, while I enjoyed visiting the people I knew there, I do hate rain! So, the past year or two I’ve made it a point to go in the summer and the change the sunshine brings is easily recognizable. Therefore, today’s lesson is: go to Portland in the summer!

The Columbia River Gorge is less than an hour east of Portland and is simply stunning. I remember hiking up mountains and to hidden waterfalls when I was a kid. The scenery is picturesque, especially on a clear summer’s day.

The Oregon coast is also equally amazing. About two hours west of the city, the rugged coastline and large rocks of the coast make for a stunning backdrop.

I went on a day trip to the gorge and a two-day trip to the beaches around Lincoln City. A few choice pictures are below, with more at my Flickr page and the entire set on Shutteryfly.

gorge
Columbia River Gorge from The Vista House

Panorama Point
Panorama Point in Hood River

Nye Beach
Nye Beach With Yaquina Lighthouse in the Background

Leave a Reply

