Big Brownie Cookies

I’m a little ashamed to even be posting this recipe considering how easy it is. But the results are totally amazing and it is pretty much my go to recipe when I’m short of time but still want to bake something. I decided to make these for a coworker’s birthday and the ol’ classic did not disappoint.

The recipe comes from a fabulous cookbook of “semi-homemade” recipes titled, “The Ultimate Shortcut Cookie Cookbook“. I usually double the recipe so I can use the full bag of chocolate chips – making sure there isn’t half a bag sitting in my house to tempt me. The recipe calls for semisweet chocolate chips, but I like to use white chocolate chips since I think it provides a nice contrast to the chocolate in the cookie itself.

Below is the standard recipe, which I doubled, and pictures of the finished product.

Ingredients
1 (19.5-19.8 oz.) package brownie mix
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (half a bag)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray cookie sheet with nonstick cooking spray.

Combine brownie mix, oil and eggs in a large mixing bowl with a wooden spoon until just blended and all dry ingredients are moistened. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop dough by heaping tablespoon onto cookie sheet, two inches apart.

Bake for 11-14 minutes until cracked in appearance and just barely set at center when lightly touched (13 minutes seems to be the sweet spot for my oven). Cool for one minute on cookie sheet. Transfer to wire racks with metal spatula to cool completely.

Fresh out of the oven

Ready to eat

2 thoughts on “Big Brownie Cookies

Leave a Reply

